What to expect when you’re expecting to get into a film festival

ifp resources

By Kat Candler, Independent FIlmmaker Project

In the spirit of SXSW starting this weekend, I’ve put together a list of things you can expect when taking your short film out into the world.

But let’s start with … Making movies is hard. And you’re gonna get rejected. A lot. And getting rejected repeatedly can kill your soul. I remember a student getting rejected by her second festival. She threw up her arms and said, “I quit!” I looked at her and said, “You gotta be kidding me. Really? Cause if you can’t take this … I don’t know, dude.” You have to have solid-steel thick skin. Or at least be able to fake it.

Read the whole article at IFP

About slfinn

Program Director for Winter Film Awards

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Film Festival Tips & Advice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a comment